What is Massachusetts Chapter 93A?
Massachusetts has a statute that specifically enables the Attorney General and consumers to take legal action against unfair or deceptive conduct in the marketplace, called Massachusetts Consumer Protection law, Massachusetts General Laws Chapter 93A.
How do I respond to a 93A demand letter?
1. Do not be intimidated.
- Do not be intimidated.
- Evaluate the damages immediately.
- Consider making a reasonable settlement offer.
- Protect your business interests and file your response with the Court.
- Maintain all evidence when you receive the demand letter.
How long do you have to respond to a 93A letter?
within 30 days
Businesses are required to respond to this letter within 30 days of receipt. This is not a situation where it is simply a suggestion or best practice; failure to respond to a 93A demand letter may have serious consequences.
Is Bait and Switch illegal in Massachusetts?
It’s illegal for a salesperson to make false or misleading statements about a product or a service or withhold any information about it in an attempt to convince you to buy it, to sell merchandise “as is”, to try to pass a used product off as a new one, or for them to try to sell an item using what is referred to as a …
What laws protect consumers?
Consumer Rights Law
- Deceptive Trade Practice Statutes. The Federal Trade Commission Act (FTCA), first enacted in 1914, is an important federal consumer protection statute.
- Debt Collection Statutes.
- Banking and Credit Statutes.
- Real Estate Statutes.
- Privacy Statutes.
- Automobile Statutes.
- Product Safety Laws.
- Products Liability.
What happens after 30 day demand letter?
Upon serving, the recipient will have 30 days to cure the debt. If the debt is not cured the creditor has the right to forward the amount owed to a collection’s agency or seek legal action through Small Claims Court or by hiring an attorney to file a complaint in district court.
Can you ignore a demand letter?
Ignoring a demand letter — particularly if you don’t read it at all — usually gives the obligee no other choice but to initiate a formal legal action against you or your business, perhaps even sooner than they otherwise would have.
Are rain checks required by law in Massachusetts?
Massachusetts consumer protection law mandates rain checks unless the advertisement includes a disclaimer that quantities are limited.
What is the statute of limitations for actions brought under mass GLC 93A?
The statute of limitations for Chapter 93A claims is four (4) years from the date of the alleged injury or deceptive act which gave rise to the lawsuit. If a plaintiff files their claims after the limitations date has run the case against your business can be dismissed.