Which are the old coins in India?

Which are the old coins in India?

Coin series: 1947–1957 (pre-decimalization)

  • Union of India 1947–1950.
  • Republic of India 1950-1957.
  • Decimalization.
  • Naya paisa series 1957–1963.
  • Paisa series I with Devanagari Legend 1964 onwards.
  • Series II without the Devanagari Legend (1964 – 1983)
  • Series III 1982 Onwards.
  • Series IV 1988 Onwards.

How many 5 rupee coin are there in India?


Is there a 20 rupee coin in India?

The Indian 20-rupee coin (₹20) is a denomination of the Indian rupee. The ₹20 coin is the highest-denomination circulation coin minted in India since its introduction in 2019. The present ₹20 coin is released for circulation.

Which is the biggest coin?

Record breaking coin The Australian Kangaroo One Tonne Gold Coin was awarded the title of the ‘largest coin’ by Guinness World Records in 2012.

Which is the smallest coin?

Big news in the commemorative coin world: Switzerland just created the world’s smallest coin. Measuring 2.96 mm (0.1”) in diameter and featuring Swiss citizen Albert Einstein’s famous tongue-out pose, the quarter-franc is so tiny that some of its features can’t be seen with the naked eye.

Which metal is used to make coins in India?

Government of India has been using various metals from time to time depending on the value of metals. Currently, using Ferritic Stainless Steel (17% Chromium and 83% Iron) is being used for manufacturing most of the coins.

How do Indian coins come into circulation?

Coins are minted at the four India Government Mints at Mumbai, Alipore (Kolkata), Saifabad (Hyderabad), Cherlapally (Hyderabad) and NOIDA (UP). The coins are issued for circulation only through the Reserve Bank in terms of the RBI Act.

What are the Indian coins made up of?

Since 1992, one Indian rupee coins are minted from stainless steel . Round in shape, the one rupee coins weighs 3.76 grams (58.0 grains), has a diameter of 21.93-millimetre (0.863 in) and thickness of 1.45-millimetre (0.057 in). In independent India, one rupee coins was first minted in 1950 and is currently in circulation.

What is the composition of Indian coins?

COMPOSITION OF METALS USED IN INDIAN COINS (i) Gold (1835-1918) 91.7% or 22 Carat. (ii) Standard Silver (1835-1939) 91.7%SiLver+8.3% Copper. (iii) Silver Alloy (1939-1945) 50%Silver+ 40%Copper+ 5%Nickel+ 5%Zinc.