When did pardon win the Melbourne Cup?

When did pardon win the Melbourne Cup?

Some of the most famous winners of the Melbourne Cup include inaugural champion Archer who won the first two events, the legendary Phar Lap, and the sole triple Melbourne Cup winner between 2003-05, Makybe Diva.

Who won the Melbourne Cup in 1990?

Kingston Rule

Year Winner Time
1990 Kingston Rule 3:16.30
1989 Tawrrific 3:17.10
1988 Empire Rose 3:18.90
1987 Kensei 3:22.00

Which horse ran the fastest time to complete the Melbourne Cup in 1990?

Melbourne Cup Records

Fastest Winning Time: 3:16.3 by Kingston Rule in 1990
Horse Most Wins: 3 times Makybe Diva (2003, 2004, 2005)
Jockey Most Wins: 4 times Bobby Lewis (1902, 1915, 1919, 1927) and Harry White (1974, 1975, 1978, 1979)

How many horses have won Melbourne Cup more than once?

In it’s long history the Melbourne Cup has been won twice by four horses; Archer (1861 & 1862), Peter Pan (1932 & 1934), Rain Lover (1968 & 1969) and Think Big (1974 & 1975).

Which trainer has won the most Melbourne Cups?

Most Melbourne Cup Wins – Trainer

  • 12 – Bart Cummings (1965, 1966, 1967, 1974, 1975, 1977, 1979, 1990, 1991, 1996, 1999, 2008)
  • In the modern era (since 1983) Lee Freedman has trained 5 Melbourne Cup winners (1989, 1992, 1995, 2004, 2005)

Has Peter Moody won a Melbourne Cup?

Moody has never trained a Melbourne Cup winner, yet his horse is almost certain to jump the shortest priced favourite since Phar Lap ($1.20) in 1930.

Who won 2020 Caulfield Cup?

Verry Elleegant
2020 Caulfield Cup/Winners

Who won the Melbourne Cup in 1991 and 2000?

The 1991 to 2000 Melbourne Cup winners were a mixed group, with Let’s Elope starting off this period as the first mare to win the Melbourne Cup-Caulfield Cup double since the ’30s.

What is the Melbourne Cup horse racing?

The Melbourne Cup is the biggest and most anticipated horse racing event on the Australian calendar. Every year, this race manages to attract a high quality field from around the world, who compete for $6.2 million worth of prize money.

What are the names of the Melbourne Cup Winners?

List of Melbourne Cup Winners Year Winner Weight (kg) Jockey Trainer 1992 SUBZERO 54.5 G.HALL D.L.FREEDMAN 1991 LET’S ELOPE 51 S.R.KING J.B.CUMMINGS 1990 KINGSTON RULE 53 D.BEADMAN J.B.CUMMINGS 1989 TAWRIFFIC 54 R.S.DYE D.L.FREEDMAN

What horse won the Melbourne Cup in 1989?

Tawriffic, a New Zealand bred horse, won the 1989 Melbourne Cup beating home Super Impose. He had lost favour with the punters after finishing second-last in the Caulfield Cup, starting the Flemington race with odds of 30-1, an amazing comeback.