What were the original NFL cities?

What were the original NFL cities?

The league began play in 1920 and comprised five teams from Ohio (Akron Pros, Canton Bulldogs, Cleveland Tigers, Columbus Panhandlers, and Dayton Triangles), four teams from Illinois (Chicago Tigers, Decatur Staleys, Racine Cardinals [the Cardinals were based in Chicago but took the name of a local street], and Rock …

How many NFL teams are in their original city?

In 1920, ten football teams gathered in Canton, Ohio to create the American Professional Football Association (APFA), now known as the National Football League (NFL). Four more teams joined the League later that year, rounding out the 14 Original NFL Towns.

What city has the most NFL teams?

Some states have multiple teams, such as California, which has three: the Los Angeles Rams, the Los Angeles Chargers, and the San Francisco 49ers….NFL Teams by State.

State California
# of Teams 3
NFL Teams Los Angeles Rams Los Angeles Chargers San Francisco 49ers
2021 Pop. 39,613,493

How many NFL teams are there in order?

National Football League

Current season, competition or edition: 2021 NFL season
Commissioner Roger Goodell
No. of teams 32
Country United States
Headquarters 345 Park Avenue New York, NY 10154 U.S.

What NFL teams have never changed cities?

Green Bay Packers While the Green Bay Packers did not join the NFL until its second year, the team does have the distinction of being the oldest continuous franchise that has never moved or changed its name.

What is the smallest town with an NFL team?

Green Bay, Wisconsin, is the smallest market to have a major pro sports team because of a population of around 105,100.

What cities have NFL teams?

New York City

  • Los Angeles
  • Chicago
  • Baltimore-Washington,DC Area
  • San Francisco Bay Area
  • Boston
  • Dallas
  • Philadelphia
  • Houston
  • Atlanta
  • What is the total number of NFL teams?

    There are a total of 32 teams in the NFL, with the league being organized into two conferences of 16 teams each – the National Football Conference and the American Football Conference.

    What three NFL teams are named after their state?

    Arizona Cardinals. The franchise began play in Chicago in the late 1890s before moving to St.

  • Atlanta Falcons. Shortly after insurance executive Rankin Smith brought professional football to Atlanta,there was a contest to name the team.
  • Baltimore Ravens.
  • Buffalo Bills.
  • Carolina Panthers.
  • Chicago Bears.
  • Cincinnati Bengals.
  • Cleveland Browns.
  • Dallas Cowboys.
  • What are the 32 NFL football teams?


  • Buffalo Bills
  • Miami Dolphins
  • New England Patriots
  • New York Jets
  • Baltimore Ravens
  • Cincinnati Bengals
  • Cleveland Browns
  • Pittsburgh Steelers