What are the labor laws in Michigan?

What are the labor laws in Michigan?

Michigan child labor laws Their work must not start earlier than 3 p.m. Monday through Friday , and work is prohibited between the hours of 9 p.m. and 7 a.m. 10 hours a day, 6 days a week and 48 hours per week when school is not in session.

What rights do I have as an employee in Michigan?

In fact, Michigan and U.S. law guarantee certain rights for all workers, including the right to a minimum wage, limits on working hours, the right to a safe workplace, and the right to join or form a union.

How do I file a complaint against my employer in Michigan?

An employee or employee representative may file a complaint regarding workplace safety and health hazards. Complaints can be filed electronically on the MIOSHA website. You can also call MIOSHA toll-free at 800-TO-MIOSH (800-866-4674) to have a complaint form mailed to you.

How many days can you work without a day off in Michigan?

Work Days. The work day shall consist of twenty four (24) consecutive hours commencing at 12:01 a.m. Whenever practicable and consistent with program needs, employees shall work on five (5) consecutive work days separated by two (2) consecutive days off.

How many hours straight can you legally work in Michigan?

There is no minimum or maximum number of hours. The employer may ask you to come in when needed, or send you home when work is slow and you are not needed.

Can you be fired for no reason in Michigan?

In Michigan, employment is usually considered to be “at-will”. This means that either an employer or employee may decide to terminate employment at any time, with no reason needed. This means that either an employer or employee may decide to terminate employment at any time, with no reason needed.

What are my workers rights?

Other important employee rights include: Right to be free from discrimination and harassment of all types; Right to a safe workplace free of dangerous conditions, toxic substances, and other potential safety hazards; Right to fair wages for work performed.

What happens if employer does not respond to unemployment claim Michigan?

If the UIA asks you for information, respond within 10 days. If you do not respond within 10 days, you may lose your benefits and be charged with fraud.

What constitutes a hostile work environment in Michigan?

A hostile work environment, in the legal sense, is a workplace made hostile because of a person’s gender, race, and/or disability. It is uncommon for a single incident to be considered a hostile work environment under the law, but a single case of aggressive physical assault can constitute a hostile work environment.

Can you sue your employer in Michigan?

You can’t sue your employer, since your employer is protected by the workers compensation act, but you can sue the third party, even if you collect workers’ compensation benefits.

Can you be forced to work 7 days a week in Michigan?

A “workweek” is defined as a period of 7 consecutive days. The law requires that each workweek stand alone, and “averaging” hours over 2 or more weeks is prohibited. Under Michigan law, employers are required to establish each employee’s workweek and indicate the beginning time and day of the workweek.

How many hours are you legally allowed to work a week?

48 hours
By law an employee cannot work more than an average 48 hours a week, unless either of the following apply: they agree to work more hours (known as ‘opting out’ of the weekly limit) they do a job not covered by the law on working hours (sometimes known as the ‘working time regulations’)

Michigan Labor Laws: Breaks. In the state of Michigan, labor law for breaks specifies that employers are not obligated to give their employees a lunch or break unless they are under the age of 18.

What is the minimum wage in Michigan?

5 things to know about Michigan’s minimum wage increase The minimum wage increases by 20 cents Friday. The minimum wage will increase from $9.25 to $9.45 per hour Friday. The initial law called for $12/hour by 2022. The original proposal was signed by more than 370,000 Michiganders, and was certified by the Board of Canvassers in July 2018. The Legislature made some drastic changes in December.

Is Michigan an at will employment state?

Michigan is an “at-will” employment state. This means that absent an employment contract, both the employer and employee are free to terminate the employment at any given time, and for any legitimate purpose.

What are the Michigan overtime laws?

The Michigan Overtime law (called the Michigan Minimum Wage Law) mirrors the Federal Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA) in many ways. Just like the FLSA, the Michigan overtime law requires that non-exempt employees receive overtime pay equal to 1.5 x their regular hourly pay for any hours worked over 40 in a week (overtime).