What are the groups of Kingdom Animalia?

What are the groups of Kingdom Animalia?

Animal Kingdom is classified into:

  • Phylum – Porifera.
  • Phylum – Coelenterata (Cnidaria)
  • Phylum – Ctenophora.
  • Phylum – Platyhelminthes.
  • Phylum – Aschelminthes (Nemotoda) Annelida.
  • Phylum – Arthropoda.
  • Phylum – Mollusca.
  • Phylum – Echinodermata.

What are the 9 animal groups?

There are 36 recognized animal phyla, of which but nine (Mollusca, Porifera, Cnidaria, Platyhelminthes, Nematoda, Annelida, Arthropoda, Echinodermata, and Chordata) contain the vast majority of described, extant species.

How many species are in the Animalia kingdom?

1,000,000 species
Kingdom Animalia [1,000,000 species]: Multicellular animals, without cell walls and without photosynthetic pigments, forming diploid blastula.

What are the 2 main groups of animals?

Taking the animal kingdom as an example, we can see that it is split into two clear groups: Invertebrates – animals without a backbone. Vertebrates – animals with a backbone.

How are animals grouped?

In accordance with the Linnaeus method, scientists classify the animals, as they do the plants, on the basis of shared physical characteristics. They place them in a hierarchy of groupings, beginning with the kingdom animalia and proceeding through phyla, classes, orders, families, genera and species.

What are three examples of Animalia?

So, the examples of Kingdom Animalia (each phyla) are as follows: Amoeba (unicellular) Sycon (marine sponge) Hydra/Jelly fish (aquatic) Comb jelly (aquatic & bioluminescent) Tapeworm (flat body & endoparasitic) Roundworm (parasitic) Earthworm, Leech. Cockroach, Prawn, Scorpion.

How many Phylums are in the kingdom Animalia?

31 phyla
Depending on definitions, the animal kingdom Animalia contains approximately 31 phyla; the plant kingdom Plantae contains about 14, and the fungus kingdom Fungi contains about 8 phyla.

What phylum do we belong to in Animalia?

Kingdom Animalia: We belong to the Class Mammalia, which comes under the Phylum Chordata of the Kingdom Animalia. The Kingdom Animalia is a huge kingdom that involves many different species. In this article, let us learn how animals are classified under different phyla based on their special characteristics.

How many animal kingdom classifications are there?

All living organisms can be placed in one of six different animal kingdom classifications. The characteristics of each animal kingdom are: Animal – A kingdom of complex multi-celled organisms that do not produce their own food. This kingdom contains all living and extinct animals.

How many kingdom Animalia stock photos are available royalty-free?

1,837 kingdom animalia stock photos, vectors, and illustrations are available royalty-free.

How many subphyla are there in the animal kingdom?

Kingdom Animalia has been classified into ten different subphyla based on their body design or differentiation. The different phylum of the animal kingdom are as follows: Porifera means organisms with holes. They are commonly known as Sponges.