What are the contents of the Bible?

What are the contents of the Bible?

The Christian Bible consists of the Old Testament and the New Testament. In the Roman Catholic and Eastern Orthodox traditions, the Old Testament includes writings considered apocryphal by Protestants. The New Testament contains four Gospels (Matthew, Mark, Luke, and John), Acts, 21 letters, and Revelation.

How many contents are in the Bible?


Hebrew Bible (Tanakh) (24 books) Protestant Old Testament (39 books) Catholic Old Testament (46 books)
Ezra–Nehemiah Nehemiah Nehemiah (2 Esdras)
Tobit (Tobias)
Ester (Esther) Esther Esther

How is Bible divided?

The Christian Bible is divided into the Old Testament and the New Testament. In general terms, the Old Testament of Christians corresponds with the Bible of Jews. The first section of Prophets, like the Torah, is called historical because it tells the story of the Jewish people.

What are the Bible chapters in order?

The Old Testament

  • Genesis (50 Chapters)
  • Exodus (40 Chapters)
  • Leviticus (27 Chapters)
  • Numbers (36 Chapters)
  • Deuteronomy (34 Chapters)
  • Joshua (24 Chapters)
  • Judges (21 Chapters)
  • Ruth (4 Chapters)

What is the 66th book in the Bible?

Curiously, Revelation is the 66th book in the Bible, and the number of the beast occurs in verse 18, which is 6 + 6 + 6.

– The King James Version of the Bible – without the Apocrypha – The Book of Mormon: Another Testament of Jesus Christ – The Doctrine and Covenants of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints – The Pearl of Great Price

Should book have table of contents?

Formal reports (ten or more pages and being too long to put into a memo or letter) also have a table of contents. Within an English-language book, the table of contents usually appears after the title page, copyright notices, and, in technical journals, the abstract; and before any lists of tables or figures, the foreword, and the preface.

What is the meaning of table of contents?

A table of contents, usually headed simply “Contents” and abbreviated informally as TOC, is a list, usually found on a page before the start of a written work, of its chapter or section titles or brief descriptions with their commencing page numbers.

How many bibles are in the Bible?

The Bible is a collection of 66 books. There 39 books in the Old Testament and 27 in the New Testament.