Is ATF Form 4473 required?
Is an ATF Form 4473 required when an unlicensed person sells or disposes of a firearm? No. The ATF Form 4473 is required only for sales or dispositions by a licensed manufacturer, importer, or dealer.
Where can I get ATF Form?
ATF Forms 4473 are available free of charge from the ATF Distribution Center. Forms may be ordered online at www.atf.gov/distribution-center-order-form. Please order a quantity of forms estimated for 6 months use.
What classifies as a destructive device?
For the purposes of the National Firearms Act, the term “Destructive Device” means: A missile having an explosive or incendiary charge of more than 1/4 oz. A combination of parts designed and intended for use in converting a device into a destructive device and from which a destructive device can be readily assembled.
What is a responsible person FFL?
FFL License – Responsible Persons Listed. A responsible person on the FFL license, as defined by the ATF, means someone who has the power to direct the management and policies of the business entity for which the federal firearms license is being applied.
What happens if you lie on a 4473?
Lying on the form is a felony punishable by up to five years in prison in addition to fines, even if the transaction is denied by the NICS. Prosecutions are rare in the absence of a felony committed with the gun purchased.
How long are ATF Form 4473 kept?
Licensees shall retain each ATF Form 4473 for a period of not less than 20 years after the date of sale or disposition.
Where can I get fingerprinted for ATF Form 1?
These fingerprint cards may be obtained by contacting the Federal Explosives Licensing Center at 877-283-3352 or the ATF Distribution Center at 703-870-7526 or 703-870-7528. The fingerprint cards must be completed by your local law enforcement authority.
Can civilians own destructive devices?
While current federal laws allow destructive devices, some states have banned them from transfer to civilians. In states where banned, only law enforcement officers and military personnel are allowed to possess them. The definition of a “destructive device” is found in 26 U.S.C. § 5845(f).
Is a flamethrower considered a destructive device?
California requires residents to have a permit for possession of a flamethrower. However, Maryland outlawed flamethrowers, where they are considered a “destructive device.” And then on Twitter, he said his company’s flamethrower was the “world’s safest.” Great for roasting nuts????
Can multiple people be on one FFL?
It would be kind of odd to do so but certainly possible. You can also hold multiple commercial FFLs. Sig Sauer makes both guns and ammunition so would hold a Type 07 FFL which allows them to do both. If they wanted to make or sell destructive devices, they could also obtain a Type 09, 10 or 11 FFL for those purposes.
Can multiple people be on an FFL?
The licensing database of the ATF can only store fifty characters in the trade name field. If the two actions would happen in two different locations, two separate FFL licenses would be mandatory. Also, you should pay attention of what the license you opt for actually permits you to do.