How much does it cost to file a DBA in Michigan?
Registering a DBA name in Michigan requires payment of $10 or $25, depending on your business type. If you are a sole proprietor or your business is a partnership, different filing fees at the county level will apply.
What is the difference between a business name and an assumed name?
An assumed name is also called a DBA (doing business as) name. Regardless of your form of business—corporation, limited liability company, partnership or sole proprietorship—you need to comply with your state’s assumed name statutes if you do business using any name other than your legal name.
Does Michigan require a DBA?
As a formal matter, Michigan does not require the filing of a DBA designation on the state level. However, a foreign corporation or business entity that wants to use a name that is already registered will be required to file for a DBA.
How much does it cost to register a business name in Michigan?
To do so in Michigan, you must register your assumed name with the Michigan Department of Licensing and Regulatory Affairs. You register by postal mail by filing a Certificate of Assume Name. The filing fee is $25. The registration is good for five years.
Which is better a DBA or LLC?
Generally, a DBA is less costly to maintain, but an LLC offers better benefits and protection. Expanding and selling a business, as well as generating funding, is also easier with an LLC. Also, a business owner does not receive personal liability protection from a DBA.
Do DBAs expire?
In California, DBAs are valid for five (5) years from the filing date and in Nevada, the term depends on the county that your business is located at (some counties are 5 years and some are unlimited). You must renew your DBA on or before the expiration date.
Is assumed name the same as sole proprietorship?
Is DBA and sole proprietorship the same? Technically speaking, no. A sole proprietorship is a legal structure (like LLC or Corporation), and a DBA is not. A DBA is a legal requirement to operate your business with a trade name or a pseudonym different from your registered legal name.
Is an assumed business name a legal entity?
In general, your assumed name cannot already be in use by another business. Some state laws also specifically prohibit DBA or assumed names that include “corp.,” “inc.,” “LLC,” or another abbreviation that implies the assumed name is actually registered as a legal business entity.
How do I register my business name online in Michigan?
To reserve a business name, you must file an application online or by mail. Applicants may also file by email ([email protected]) or fax (517) 241-0538. If you email or fax an application, you must create a MICH-ELF account using this form. When reserving your name, you will have to pay a filing fee.
When do you need an assumed business name?
Assumed Name – Assumed Business Name. In general, you need to file a Assumed Business Name and it is a certificate of your business name as opposed to a certificate of a business such as a business license.
How do you register a business name in Michigan?
Here are six things you must do to register your business in the State of Michigan. Obtain a FEIN . Register the assumed business name with the County Clerk. Obtain UIA Number. Obtain a Sales Tax License. Register your business with the Michigan Department of Treasury. Obtain all necessary permits.
How do I file an assumed business name?
Complete the application
How to register a business name in Michigan?
Step 1: Choose Business Structure. The type of business structure you choose to form will determine how you register the business with the state. Use