How do I wipe my Mac completely clean?

How do I wipe my Mac completely clean?

Shut down your Mac, then turn it on and immediately press and hold these four keys together: Option, Command, P, and R. Release the keys after about 20 seconds. This clears user settings from memory and restores certain security features that might have been altered.

How do I restore my Mac computer to factory settings?

To reset your Mac, first restart your computer. Then press and hold Command + R until you see the Apple logo. Next, go to Disk Utility > View > View all devices, and choose the top drive. Next, click Erase, fill out the required details, and hit Erase again.

How do I restore my Mac to factory settings without deleting files?

Step 1: Hold the Command + R keys until the MacBook’s utility window hasn’t opened. Step 2: Select Disk Utility and click on Continue. Step 4: Select the format as MAC OS Extended (Journaled) and click on Erase. Step 5: Wait till the MacBook is completely reset and then go back to the Disk Utility’s main window.

Does resetting Mac delete everything?

Resetting a Mac to factory settings gets rid of all the data stored on that machine, so we recommend that you make a backup of the data first. This can be done very simply using Apple’s Time Machine software – here’s how to back up using Time Machine.

How do you hard factory reset a MacBook pro?

How to Factory Reset a Mac or MacBook (macOS Monterey)

  1. Click the Apple icon in the menu bar (top-left corner).
  2. Select System Preferences from the drop-down menu.
  3. Select ‘Erase All Contents and Settings. ‘
  4. Enter your password, select ‘OK. ‘
  5. Select the ‘Erase All Content & Settings’ button.

Does a factory reset delete everything on a laptop?

During the factory resetting process, your PC’s hard drive is completely erased and you lose any business, financial and personal files that may be present on the computer. Once the resetting process starts, you cannot interrupt it.