How do I file an expunction in Harris County?
Expunctions. A petition for expunction should be electronically with the District Clerk at www.efiletexas.gov. Fees for filing an expunction are $287.00. There are also additional fees for notice of the hearing and the final expunction order on each agency listed in your petition.
How do I file a petition for expungement in Texas?
If qualified, you can petition the court for expunction (often called expungement) as provided for in Section 55 of Texas Law on Criminal Procedure. You can do it yourself by completing and filing a petition before the court and wait for the pronouncement of the Judge.
How do I get an expunction?
How to Get a Felony Expunged in California
- Step 1: Seek legal counsel.
- Step 2: Obtain and complete forms.
- Step 3: File for expungement.
- Step 4: Meet with your attorney to prepare for your hearing.
- Step 5: Your expungement hearing.
- Step 6: If your petition is accepted.
- Step 7: If your petition is denied.
What is an expunction petition?
The “Petition for Dismissal” (form CR-180) is the formal document you use to ask the court to expunge your conviction. If the judge approves your expungement, s/he will sign the “Order for Dismissal” (form CR-181) to make your expungement an official court order.
How do you get a felony expunged in Texas?
Specifically, you may be able to get misdemeanor or felony records expunged in Texas if:
- The felony charge was dropped or dismissed without action;
- You went to trial and were acquitted of the offense;
- You were convicted of the charge, but later found to be innocent by a court; or.
- You were pardoned of the offense.
How long does it take to expunge a record in Texas?
In most instances, it takes about 30 days to schedule a hearing date after the petition for expunction is filed. The entire process usually takes from four to six weeks. If the court grants an expungement, it usually takes up to 180 days for local, state, and federal agencies to destroy their records.
How much does it cost to get your record expunged in California?
Including Court Costs, ALL Legal Work and Court Appearances: Misdemeanor Expungements $695* Misdemeanor DUI Expungement $820. Felony Expungement $915* (includes a reduction to a misdemeanor when eligible) Sealing of Juvenile or Diversion Records: $2,250.
What felonies can be expunged in California?
For example, in California, felony convictions can only be expunged if:
- no time was served in state prison,
- felony probation was successfully completed, and.
- the applicant is not currently facing criminal charges, on probation, or serving another sentence.
How do I obtain an expunction from Houston Police Department?
The agreed order should be sent to HPD’s dedicated email address for expunctions [email protected] first for execution. Once it is signed by HPD, it will be emailed back to you and you will be responsible for circulating it to all other agencies.
How much does it cost to file an expunction?
Fee for this request is $15.00. A petition for expunction should be electronically with the District Clerk at www.efiletexas.gov. Fees for filing an expunction are $287.00. There are also additional fees for notice of the hearing and the final expunction order on each agency listed in your petition.
How to file a petition for expunction and order setting hearing?
File your petition for expunction and order setting hearing. After you prepare your petition for expunction and order setting hearing, file them at: If filed by hand, you will need to make 4 copies of the expunction petition (make five copies if you would like a copy for yourself.
How do I obtain the required forms for expunction?
You must have an e-mail address. For assistance in preparing your required forms for expunction, you may obtain your criminal information or a criminal background from the District Clerk’s website at www.hcdistrictclerk.com. It is your responsibility to complete your form.