Can you take sick leave for a family member?
California’s family sick leave law is set forth in Labor Code § 233 . Generally speaking, the statute requires an employer to permit an employee to use up to half of his or her annual sick leave accrual to attend to an ill child, parent or spouse.
How many hours of kin care days in a year?
For a full-time career employee, for example, this would mean no more than 48 hours of sick leave can be counted as Kin Care. Calculation: Full time employee accrues 8 hours of sick leave per month (96 hours of sick leave per year) and thus could take no more than 48 hours for Kin Care in a calendar year.
Do you get paid for kin care?
Up to 2 weeks* of paid sick leave at 2/3 of the employee’s regular pay rate (or the applicable state or federal minimum wage, if higher). The maximum is $200 a day and $2,000 total. Kin care leave is time provided to employees to take time off work to care for a family member.
Can I use sick leave for bereavement?
Sick Leave for Bereavement An employee is entitled to use a total of up to 104 hours (13 days) of sick leave each leave year for family care and bereavement, which include making arrangements required by the death of a family member and attending the funeral of a family member.
Can I be fired for taking care of my sick child?
There is no federal law that requires employers to allow employees to take time off to take care of a sick kid who’s not hospitalized. Unless you have a vacation day you can use, your employer can fire you for missing work to take care of a sick kid.
Can sick leave be denied?
You may deny a medical leave request that would cause significant difficulty or expense, unless the employee has a right to leave under the Family and Medical Leave Act (enforced by the Department of Labor) or a state or local law.
Who counts for bereavement leave?
Employees can take leave for the death of a spouse, child, parent, sibling, grandparent, grandchild, or domestic partner. Their guaranteed ten days off can be used at any time in any combination in the three months following the death.
Does kin care cover siblings?
By way of background, employees may take up to half of their California paid sick leave for “kin care” – to care for a family member, which includes a child, parent, legal guardian, spouse, registered domestic partner, grandchild, grandparent, and sibling.
Should I stay home with my sick child?
Vomiting is typically short-lived. But, if your child vomits and is feeling unwell, it’s best to keep him home until 24 hours after vomiting stops. See a doctor if vomiting lasts more than 24 hours, is accompanied by fever of 102 degrees Fahrenheit or higher, or if your child shows signs of dehydration.